Me, communicating science (and why I think it matters)

Primarily in the interest of making this page a bit more ~multimedia~ , I thought I’d share this video which features my charming face. Look out for some great stop motion, and the comedy rewind at about a minute in (neither of which I can take credit for!)

It was part of a module on my course called Science Communication, where all second years had to produce a short film, along with some pieces of scientific writing. Needless to say, some people approached it with some reluctance! Personally I was glad of the variety; I love my course, but once we got on to the fourth physical chemistry module of the year getting some credits for nervously grinning into a video camera seemed pretty appealing.

Which brings me onto science communication. This is something close to my heart – every week I work at a nearby school teaching science. “Grown ups” often get overlooked, however!

Once school science lessons are done with, so many people just lose interest. For most adults who aren’t actively involved in the scientific community, the only source of information on new scientific developments is the mainstream media. Although this is great when journalists get the science right, it’s often not the case. As something that effects all of us every day, it bothers me a bit that so few people show an interest in new science. But, I suppose I’m biased – not everyone wants to know about the latest in nanotechnology or space exploration. I just feel that, as new technology becomes a bigger and bigger part of our lives, the average person needs a greater scientific awareness in order to make informed decisions.

Up to date, accessible information is more available than ever before thanks to blogs like io9 and even the New Scientist website. There are also more and more mainstream science tv shows (I have a lot of love for Dara Ó Briain’s Science Club!) so maybe I’m over-reacting. Either way, I’m going to keep fighting the corner, and continue telling anyone who will listen to me why “Heisenberg” was such a funny codename for Walter White to use and why you don’t need to worry about the risks of “dihydrogen monoxide”.

Leave a Reply

